Awards and Recognition

Nominations will be accepted in fall of 2017 



Every year, the luncheon held in conjunction with the Room Show also serves as UMAPP's annual meeting of members.  This is because we have the most members in one place, sitting down, at one time.   During this meal, UMAPP's president gives a State of the Association address, important updates or announcements, and also presents deserving individuals with a Lifetime Achievement Award, Volunteer of the Year Award, and the Hall of Fame Award.  Of course, the membership must do their part as well by nominating individuals for these awards.  

All members are invited to attend the luncheon.  

Please join us in congratulating these impressive individuals for their awards:   

Volunteer of the Year

Gary Haley | Beacon/Hub 
Nominated by Paula Coomer, Starline 
Gary Haley is on the left with UMAPP President, Carter Sharp

I nominated Gary Haley because of the dedication of taking the bull by the horns and tackling such a big project of Pro Dev Chair. He has gone above the bar that was set by getting key outstanding speakers while raising sponsorships way beyond what was expected to make sure that every component of the event was covered! It's a pleasure to have someone who is so dedicated to make sure the event is perfect!


Melinda Marr       2007
Jamie Kuklok       2008
Scott Hareid        2009
David Hawes       2010
Rena Ashfeld       2011
Bill Benolken       2012
Dawn Lucchesi     2013
Scott Mueller       2014
Todd Pottebaum   2015
Tom Donlin          2016
Gary Haley          2017


Lifetime Achievement 

Sue Tobias, MAS | Fields Manufacturing Nominated by Brian Trowbridge, Marudas
Sue Tobias is 3rd from the left.  Sue and family.  

During her almost 50 years in the promotional products industry, Sue Tobias has experienced both the distributor side as well as the supplier side, which in my estimation, gave her a unique perspective of how our industry works and how to assist others in being successful on their own with her insight and leadership abilities. Here is a brief overview of her associations and achievements. 

Shedd Brown: June 1968-1979 
TDC Playing Cards: 1979-1983 
RCI Playing Cards: 1983-1986 
Awardcraft: 1986-2000 
Fields Mfg.: 2000-present 
Served on SAAUM board for 13 years and was President for one year. 1985-1986 
Served on national committees with PPAI: Leadership Committee; PPB Magazine Advisory Board;
New Member Committee and currently serving on Hall of Fame Advisory Group. 
Featured in PPB magazine in 1999 as one of the “Real People”. 
Featured in PPB magazine in 2003 as one of the top women in the industry, featured on front cover. 
Received CAS certification in 1983; MAS in 1993; Life Certification of MAS in 2010: MASI in 2011
Inducted into the UMAPP Hall of Fame in 2003.  

Previous Winners of the Lifetime Achievement Award:

Eric Johnson and Eileen Reasland -1st year   | 2011
Dick Donlin and Al Badiner  |  2012
Al and Phyllis Hohenwald    | 2013
None in 2014   | 2014
Gary Haley   |  2015
Melinda Marr  |  2016
Sue Tobias  |   2017


Hall of Fame 

Sue Kennedy, MAS |  Bag Makers, Inc.   
Nominated by Rena Ashfeld, CAS, Advance Corporation 
Sue Kennedy is 3rd from the left.  Sue and family.  

Sue Kennedy has been a volunteer on the UMAPP Board for 22 years of the 26 years in the Promotional Products Industry. She has had involvement in several committees on the Board. Sue is passionate about the Industry, UMAPP and her fellow Board. I believe in recognition and to recognize someone that has dedicated 22 years to UMAPP needs to be awarded - in this day and age we are lucky to get a volunteer to stay on longer then Board service. 


Sue Kennedy, MAS
Joe Durand, MAS
Phil Sibinski
Mike Fey, MAS
Barb Gerlach, CAS
Sue Tobias, MAS
Jim Moore, MAS
Brian Trowbridge, CAS
Art Hopp
Al Hohenwald
Marshall Sipkins